Congratulations Adrian and Sarah!

It’s always a huge privilege to play at weddings. Even though I get paid, it’s even more rewarding just to share in such a happy day.  On Saturday I heaved the harp in the car and headed down to Brighton to play at Adrian and Sarah’s wedding.

In the church I played for the entrance of the bride (Bach’s Jesus Joy and Handel’s Arrival of the Queen of Sheba beforehand, then Pachelbel’s Canon. Always bloody Pachelbel’s bloody Canon…)

Then I hared back up the A23 to get to the reception venue, Slaugham Place. The rain just about held off and the guests had drinks outside while I played for a couple of hours. It was exhausting but great fun, and I managed to snaffle a glass of champagne (thanks Jon B!) – even though nobody appreciated my rendition of Sweet child O’Mine by Guns’n’Roses.

Slaugham Place - gorgeous venue for a wedding

Slaugham Place - gorgeous venue for a wedding

Then I went home, bunged some makeup on and went out to celebrate Jon Hopkins’ birthday. And there’s where it all went a bit awry. I last remember dancing like a loon to the BamBam DJs (the self-styled Ant and Dec of reggae) and trying to get the bouncer to join  us on the dancefloor. Sometimes I think I probably shouldn’t be allowed out…

Leave a Reply

