Feeding my wool fetish

The Purple Purl - a lovely, friendly knitting shop.

The Purple Purl - a lovely, friendly knitting shop.

I love coming to visit Toronto to see my sister and her family. But I also love coming here for the yarn shops.

Earlier in the week we headed down to the Purple Purl, to drink coffee, do some knitting, and have a chat to some wool-friendly locals.

It’s a lovely yarn shop, full of beautiful, tempting things. Before I knew it, I had heeded the siren call of the Wall of Wool and slapped my credit card down on the counter.

The Wonderful Wall of Wool.

The Wonderful Wall of Wool.

Here’s my haul – a couple of balls of sock yarn (in purple/pink), some lace yarn in gorgeous greens/blues, and six skeins of random red yarn that was on sale and I couldn’t resist it:

There is no such thing as enough wool

There is no such thing as "enough" wool. Apologies for the crappy photo.

And yesterday we went to Romni Wool. It’s bigger, and more “functional” than the Purple Purl, and you can’t sit around drinking coconut chai and chatting. But I still managed to stagger out with an armful of wool. More sock yarn, more lace yarn, and a few balls of Lambs Pride, which is great  for felting in the washing machine:

Wool, glorious wool

Wool, glorious wool. Lamb's pride at the back (in wine, blue, pink), sock yarn in two colours at the front, and more lace yarn (in alpaca) on the right.

Here’s a closeup of the sock yarn, which has gorgeous little sparkly bits in it – it’s going to become some socks for Christmas for a good friend of mine:

Shiny shiny!

Shiny shiny!

I’m not going to let on how much I spent, but suffice to say I REALLY hope I’ve got the exchange rate right…

I kind of lost my knitting mojo over the past year, and it seems to have come back now.  And now I have even more yarn to knit up, so I’d better get on with it.

5 responses to “Feeding my wool fetish

  1. ‘Allo, nice to see your taste in yarn. I’ve helped make that Lamb’s Pride way back in my younger days. 🙂

  2. I bet. I don’t knit myself. I just remember the mohair fibers getting everywhere when I was a kid. (parents & grandparents started the company when I was about 5). The irony is that I get most of my wool these days out of Edinburgh since it’s hard to find proper kilts here in the U.S.

  3. Pingback: A first stab at needle felting – Chloe’s bag « You do too much

  4. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 | You do too much

Leave a Reply

