A Race Against Yarn

I love knitting socks. It’s so therapeutic, going round and round and round, seeing the colours change in the painted yarn, watching the tube grow and turn into a cosy cover for toes.

That said, I have just finished knitting the most stressful and irritating pair of socks EVER.

Everything was going fine, until I noticed this:

Uh oh!

Uh oh! That's a very small amount of yarn left to knit quite a lot of sock.

Hmm. I looked at the colour changes left in the ball, and figured out I would probably just make it to the end of the toe, as long as I didn’t attempt anything rash along the way.

I was wrong.

DAGNABBIT!

DAGNABBIT!

There was only one thing for it. I had to cannibalise the toe of the first sock (undoing the damn grafting and everything), unravel an inch or so, and steal the wool for the other toe:

Im sorry, sock.  Dont you love your brother?

I'm sorry, sock.

There was a tense moment when I was knitting on the toes of both socks from each end of the same bit of yarn, to make sure they were the same length. And in the end, we got here:

Ooof. Thats the smallest amount of yarn Ive ever had left over.

Ooof. That's the smallest amount of yarn I've ever had left over.

And here they are, in all their finished, identical glory:

Stick a fork in em, theyre done.

Stick a fork in 'em, they're done.

Here’s a closeup of the pattern on the leg, loosely based on Sunday Swing from Knitty. I scribbled down a rough approximation of the pattern in my notebook to take away with me, then when it didn’t look right to me – not the pattern’s fault, I think my scribbles were wrong – I just made up a simple swirl (k2tog, k8, yo, k6, rinse, repeat):

Swirl Socks. Knit me, destined to become a Christmas present

Swirl Socks. Knit by me, destined to become a Christmas present

One response to “A Race Against Yarn

  1. Pingback: Another beanie for Kathrin « You do too much

Leave a Reply

