Alchemy in the UK – Sunday Driver in Brighton

Great poster, great night

Great poster, great night

Well that was an imperial ton of fun… Sunday Driver made our debut on the UK Steampunk scene at the Refugee Radio benefit gig in Brighton on Friday night, and went down a storm despite some major technical glitches at the beginning (errr…no bass, no sitar…), my knee giving me gyp all night – especially when I kept forgetting about it and stamping during the songs –  Joel nipping off for a pee in the middle of a song, confusion over the set list and me throwing an utterly pathetic childish tantrum when I thought we were going to miss the last train back to London.  Sorry to Joel and Chandy. In my defence, it was past my bedtime and I wanted my mummy.

There were loads of people dancing by the end, and new song The Suitor turned in a fantastic drunken singalong. Huge thanks to everyone who came down and signed up for the mailing list – we promise not to spam you too much. Join up to our Facebook support page to get super-secret downloads and sugar mice – or are they rats?

Here’s Chandy demonstrating the true meaning of East/West fusion:

Indian from the waist up, British from the waist down

Indian from the waist up, British from the waist down

And me disgracing myself by eating comestibles unbecoming of a lady:

NOM NOM NOM Eating a very unVictorian burger

NOM NOM NOM Eating a very unvictorian burger and chips

I am totally in love with the Steampunk aesthetic, and had to be physically restrained from buying tiny top hats, cameo brooches with peacock feathers and desert goggles from the stalls at the back of the venue. I contented myself with some quirky little badges instead:

Very cool badges

Very cool badges

It was fantastic to see so many people dressed up – especially the guy in the pirate hat and the lady in the corset with the phenomenal cleavage (sadly no pics, it was too dark and I didn’t want to seem like a pervert). Instead, here’s a pic of the support band (Trousseaux), who had a fabulous French singer and a clockwork drumkit:

Trousseaux doing there thing. Sorry for the bad pic - it was dark down there!

Trousseaux doing there thing. Sorry for the bad pic - it was dark down there!

Our next foray onto the Steampunk scene will be a gig at the Asylum weekend in Lincoln – possibly the first major UK Steampunk convention. I’m excited and nervous in equal measures.

One response to “Alchemy in the UK – Sunday Driver in Brighton

  1. Pingback: Sunday Driver at the Asylum in Lincoln « You do too much

Leave a Reply

