Bank Holiday baking project – Runout cookies

Since I went on a cake decorating course, buying a couple of lovely books by Peggy Porschen, and discovering this amazing blog, I’ve wanted to try my hand at making runout cookies.

Put simply, you bake some biscuits, use relatively thick icing to pipe details/outlines on the cookie, then use runny icing to flood the space. This was my first attempt at this technique on cookies, so I kept things simple. Here’s how they turned out:

ZOMG they worked!

ZOMG they worked!

The first couple of attempts weren’t so good. Also, I tried to put contrasting white spots and details on, but there wasn’t enough contrast in the colours  (they just looked like they had a nasty disease) so I used sprinkles to decorate them instead:

Cookie FAIL

Cookie FAIL. You can just about see the weird pox-like spots of white icing in the left-hand one

I used my favourite gingerbread recipe (this one from Saint Delia of Smith).

Next time, I’ll make sure to colour the icing more strongly, so I can use contrasting colours, and also make sure it’s runny enough. There was a lot of faffing about with a cocktail stick to get it to spread to the edges of the biscuits – and I had to have two goes at doing the filling, as the first time the icing was too stiff.

And there was a lot of mess. A LOT. Our floor is now unpleasantly sticky.

I have loads of cookie cutters, so I’m keen to try this technique out some more. here are the latest additions to the collection:

Need to get moving the with pink ribbon one in time for Breast Cancer Awareness month in October

Need to get moving the with pink ribbon one in time for Breast Cancer Awareness month in October

12 responses to “Bank Holiday baking project – Runout cookies

  1. Oooh they look lovely! I’m not a huge fan of icing (too sugary for me!) but they’re so pretty!

    • I’m a sugar junkie 🙂 There’s no such thing as too much icing! Now I just need to make some more cookies to practice on!

  2. Oh I get it – enamelled cakes! Clever 🙂

    Where did you do the course? Mind you, I probably need to start with the basic ‘how to boil an egg’ before I graduate to the more complex cakework.

    • I did the course at Squires Kitchen – it was the “introduction to piping with royal icing” one-day course with Paddi Clark. Great fun 🙂 We didn’t do runout cookies on the course, but we made runout butterflies to put on cakes.
      Check out the Sweetopia blog (linked to in the post) for some amazing cookies, with tutorials,
      K

  3. Love them- they turned out really well.

    Perchance are any of your cookie cutters canuck cutters?

    (BTW- I finally caved and bought a mini brownie silicone pan from The Cooks Place- just squeaking in at the end of the Bakesale…

    • Hehehe – good work 🙂
      I have discovered the only way to get them out whole is to chill the whole lot in the fridge for a good few hrs then attemot to turn them out.
      I have a maple leaf cutter – if I get the chance before I come over in January, I’ll make you some in Habs colours
      🙂
      x

  4. Hello Kat

    I thought of you the other day when I was at a V&A event for Celia Birtwell* and she showed a picture of Konditor and Cook cakes which used some of her patterns for the icing 🙂

    In the linked picture the relevant cakes are at the tops of columns 2 and 4 and the bottom of column 3.

    Jo
    * she’s a designer who has been inspired by nature and I was particularly interested in hearing from two of the guest speakers – Prof David Mabberley (who taught me economic botany on a short course in Leiden and is now Keeper of the Herbarium at Kew) and Richard Mabey (Food for Free, among other books).

  5. Pingback: Home-made party rings | You do too much

Leave a Reply

