Albums I have been obsessed with

Joanna Newsom's Ys - one of the albums that took up residence in my head for several weeks

Joanna Newsom's Ys - one of the albums that took up residence in my head for several weeks

Every so often there comes along an album that I just can’t stop listening to.  Every chance I get it’s on my mp3 player, on the car stereo or in the CD player in the bedroom*, I hum the songs under my breath and I wake in the night with the tracks playing deliriously in my head.

For the record (no pun intended…) here are the last few albums to have well and truly burrowed their way  into my subconscious.  I’d be intrigued to know if they’ve had the same effect on anyone else.

  • Joanna Newsom – Ys
  • Sufjan Stevens – (Come on feel the) Illinoise
  • TV on the Radio – Dear Science
  • The Divine Comedy – Promenade
  • Pearl Jam – Ten

So that’s my list – and I’ll do reviews of them (and why I love them) over the next couple of weeks.

But what about yours? What albums have brought out your obsessive earworms?

*As an aside, does anyone else listen to music as they fall asleep? There are so many CDs that I have where I’ve only listened to the first three tracks then conked out, so I have no idea how the rest of it ends. Perhaps I should do another post about “Albums that I love the first three tracks of but have no idea about the rest…”

8 responses to “Albums I have been obsessed with

  1. Illinois is on my list of recents too.

    Also:

    Bowerbirds – Hymns for a Dark Horse (I think you would love it. Their new, second album is also good but not as incredible):

    J Tillman – Vacilando Territory Blues (Fleet Foxes’ drummer who has 5 solo albums, this being the most recent):

    Moderat – Moderat (collaboration between noisy bassy Germans Modeselektor and dreamy glitchy German Apparat):

    I’m guessing Fleet Foxes’ eponymous debut isn’t going to be new to you, but it’s pretty awesome, and La Blogotheque’s live video things are so ace:

    Enjoy 😉

  2. ‘Eeeeeeevan flooow, thoughts arrive like butterfliiiiies…’
    I love a bit of Pearl Jam. I have recently been revisiting ‘Thunder and Consolation’ by New Model Army http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002A2K66E/sr=8-1/qid=1252672985/ref=sr_digr_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1252672985&sr=8-1
    – reminds me of teenage angst 🙂 The newest bit of music I’ve got is ‘First Love’ by Emmy the Great http://www.emmythegreat.com/, and I love every song, especially Absentee.

  3. I love “Illinoise”, especially since I grew up in Illinois. (Note: it is not nearly as exciting as Sufjan makes it out to be). I also completely wore out my cassette tape of “Ten”. Did the same with “Vs.” when it came out.

    Lately I’ve been listening to way too much Modest Mouse. I love everything Radiohead has ever done. I’ll second the vote for Fleet Foxes and raise you Band of Horses’ “Cease to Begin”

    • Nice to know there are Pearl Jam fans out there 🙂

      I have the Fleet Foxes album and certainly quite like it, but it hasn’t strayed into obsessive territory yet. I must try recent radiohead again – I didn’t really get their newer stuff, but am prepared to give it a go – and I’ll check out Band of Horses/

      Pickled Weasel – Emmy the Great sounds v interesting too 🙂

  4. Pingback: Ys – Joanna Newsom « You do too much

  5. Pingback: Dear Science – TV on the Radio « You do too much

  6. Pingback: Ten – Pearl Jam « You do too much

Leave a Reply

