Pink cookies!

Pink ribbon cookies!

Pink ribbon cookies!

It’s breast cancer awareness month, which is a good enough excuse to test out some of my new cookie cutters and practice my runout technique (first attempted here).

So I made some pink ribbon and pink champagne cookies using Peggy Porschen’s sugar cookie recipe (from the wonderfully inspiring Pretty Party Cakes).

I found doing the runouts easier this time round. However, I made the piping icing too stiff, and it hurt my hands to pipe (but it did dry quickly). And I had to have two goes at the filling icing, as it  wasn’t runny enough at the first attempt. They’re still not up to Sweetopia‘s standards, but I’m happy enough with my progress.

In retrospect, I probably should have added some sprinkles onto the pink champagne glasses, to look like bubbles. I’ve still got some cookie dough in the freezer, so I might try that next time. Or I might make some pumpkin cookies for Hallowe’en 🙂

And when it comes round to March next year, it’s prostate cancer awareness month. Any ideas for suitable cookie shapes to make? Walnuts, perhaps...

In all their glory

In all their glory

4 responses to “Pink cookies!

  1. I read your comment on “Sweetopia”. I think your icing looks awesome! Keep it up!

  2. Kat these look great!! Definitely up to par! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin cookies – Happy Hallowe’en « You do too much

Leave a Reply

