Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner!

 

Woo! Yay! My wrists hurt!

I did it. I bloody well did it. Since the 1st of November I have typed 50,000 words of dubious quality to create the embryonic form of a novel. I’m really glad I took on the challenge, as I have been meaning to sit down and write a novel for ages, and never quite got round to it. And now I have the best part of a first draft. So yay for the concept of NaNoWriMo, and the arse-kicking of my friends and family along the way.

 

Unfortunately I haven’t yet run out of plot, so I’m going to have to carry on for a bit. But I am proud to say that I am a 2009 NaNoWriMo winner. Yay!

Once I’ve finished it, and knocked it into shape with some rewriting, I’ll see what the future holds for my baby. I would love to get it published, so if you know any agents or publishers then send ’em my way…

5 responses to “Ladies and Gentlemen, we have a winner!

  1. Yay, congratulations! Sadly I have no current contacts with publishers. I used to work for one, but they won’t be interested in publishing it unless you’ve written a detailed academic history of some obscure aspect of Middle East history (which I doubt – sixteenth century Mesopotamia wasn’t known for its balloon modellers).

    The offer’s still open, though, to read it when you’re ready to show it to someone else. I always was a better editor than writer, hence why I’ve never tackled NaNoWriMo myself, and why my planned blog (http://tinypleasuresoflondon.blogspot.com, in case you’re interested) never actually got going.

  2. Cherry Shellabarger

    Yay! Bravo for you! I have a Colorado friend who also “won” for the 5th year in a row. Me? I thought I was doing well to hammer out 60,000 words in 5 months, proofed and edited….Oh, Well…

    • Hi Cherry – don’t be jealous, it’s quantity not quality in this case. I’ve got a lot more work to turn it into something readable!

  3. Pingback: The Science of Love – a love song for scientists « You do too much

  4. Pingback: Well, hello there 2010 « You do too much

Leave a Reply

