Pop-up cupcakes – Ella’s Bakehouse

Pop-ups are all the rage – shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are popping up all over the place. The latest arrival to the pop-up party was a cupcake concession run by ex-model Lorraine Pascale in TopShop in Oxford Circus for London Fashion Week.

Let’s just think about that for a moment, shall we? A stall selling cupcakes – gorgeous, gooey, gratuitously fattening cupcakes – in a shop selling clothes that I have never been able to wear, run by an ex-model as part of fashion week – a celebration of the stick thin (with some notable exceptions).

Luckily, the cupcakes look amazing – studying the icing, I reckon they’re piped from the inside out, a technique I’ll have to try soon:

NOM!

Sadly, I’ve given up cake for Lent, so I had to hand this one over to my lucky official tester. He said he wasn’t hungry, and just cut off a small piece. Two minutes later there was nothing left but a few crumbs. So I guess it was good!

I can’t wait until after Easter so I can head over to the permanent residence of Ella’s Bakehouse in Covent Garden and try one (or possibly more…) for myself.

2 responses to “Pop-up cupcakes – Ella’s Bakehouse

  1. Hello, really pleased you enjoyed the cupcakes. And you are absolutely right, we pipe from the inside out. I find piping very relaxing!
    LPx

Leave a Reply

