I think I’m in love: Kenwood Chef and the Choc Chip Cookies

Already put to work

All those years of being a very good girl and praying to the God of kitchen appliances have paid off at last.  Last weekend I received my very own Kenwood Chef.

It arrived in a box about as big as my house, with more accessories than a 14-year-old who’s been let loose in Claire’s. My favourite is the pirate attachment:

Aaaaargh me hearties! I spy cake on the starboard bow!

So, of course, I’ve been playing with it. The first day it arrived I made a small batch of delicious cupcakes with lime icing, which unfortunately vanished before I could photograph them.

They were very cute though, believe me, and my panel of tasters were impressed. Although the texture of the cakes was very light and fluffy, I only made a 1-egg mixture, and the mixer struggled a bit with such a small quantity. There was a lot of spatula-wielding involved.

Then I made some pesto. It was delicious, but a rather alarming bright green. No photos of that either, for the sake of the more delicate readers.

And then I tried some chocolate chip and macadamia nut cookies. I based these on Dorrie Greenspan’s ‘best chocolate chip cookie’ recipe from the excellent “Baking: From my home to yours”, but used dark brown sugar instead of light brown. This made the cookies look a bit darker, with a lovely rich toffee taste. It may have made them spread a bit more.  Or maybe I didn’t put in enough flour. Who knows?

Chocolate chip and macadamia cookies. But not for long.

Anyway. I’m meant to have given up cakes etc for Lent so I’m giving most of these away to my housemates, but I’m afraid these cookies tempted me one step too far. I ate one that had got a bit squidged during baking, and it was utterly delicious – chewy and crispy and very, very tasty.   1-0 to the Kenwood Chef.  I am a weak-willed loser.

Here’s the recipe (adapted and slightly anglicised from Dorrie Greenspan’s Baking- from my home to yours):

  • 8oz butter, at room temp.
  • 1 cup sugar (use a proper US measuring cup. Not a teacup.)
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt (I used Maldon crystals, but probably should have used table salt)
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 200g Green & Black’s 34% cocoa milk chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 1 1/2 handfuls of macadamia nuts, chopped as best as you can manage.

Preheat the oven to about 175C.

Take out your beloved Kenwood Chef, and fit the flexible beater.  I guess you could do it with a bowl and spoon. I don’t know. I have a Kenwood Chef.

Beat the butter for a bit, until smooth. Add the sugars and beat until smooth again. Then beat in the vanilla, then the eggs (one at a time).

Mix the flour, salt and bicarb in a bowl. Add it to the wet mixture in three goes, beating just until it’s mixed.

Mix in the chocolate and nuts by hand, with a wooden spoon (not your hand, obviously). In restrospect, I’d have used the mixer on a low speed to do this bit too.

Dollop in dessert-spoonfuls onto greased baking trays (I use non-stick liners on mine – they are awesome), spaced well apart as these babies spread like a middle-aged tummy. I only got about 6 per tray, and even then some of them were stuck together at the edges.

Bake on tray at a time for about 10-12 mins, turning the tray round halfway through, until lightly browned at the edges. Take the tray out of the oven and leave it to cool for a minute or so, then transfer the cookies carefully to wire racks with a spatula. They are quite soft at this stage, but soon harden up.

Stare at them, attempting to resist. Then eat one, and spend the evening plagued by guilt. Or give them to people who haven’t foolishly given up baked goods for Lent.

16 responses to “I think I’m in love: Kenwood Chef and the Choc Chip Cookies

  1. I have appliance envy.
    Have you looked at ‘Red Velvet Chocolate Heartache’ by Harry Eastwood? It’s all cakes, and they’re all fat free, but not in a diety way. And they have vegetables in them. I was sceptical, but am a convert after trying a few recipes out, and they’d be perfect for your Kenwood, because nearly all the recipes go on about using a mixer.
    I hope you feel very guilty about your Lent slippage – at least if you’d made the cookies using a bowl and spoon you would’ve earnt one!

    • It is a thing of beauty, but sadly I only have it because my Grandpa passed away and left my mum some money. I think I would rather have Grandpa than a mixer, however lovely it is…

      I’ve heard about the vegetable cake book, but still very sceptical of it as I suspect that beetroot might be involved. Urgh! I’ll have another look at it though.

  2. I found your page whilst searching for recipes for my new acquired Kenwood Chef and found your article highly amusing. Only a fellow ‘Chef’ admirer can understand the ‘love’ that follows after such a purchase. 🙂 Alos, how great that when you loving make cakes for your family & friends you will have fond memories of your grandfather. I have fooled myself over the years that my trusty hand held Kenwood electric hand mixer will do the job just as well but I am now convinced that I will be making amazing cakes from now on. Later today it will be the trusted Victoria Sandwich cake (probably chocolate) but I will try your cookies soon as they look delicious. Many thanks for the laugh & recipe.

  3. Any chance you could give me some ideas how to use my kenwood chef properly. I used 8oz marg, sugar , flour etc but I found using the K beater that it did not beat my marg properly. Also when I added the eggs at the end i could tell they werent mixed in properly. How long do you beat your mix for and at what speed? I forked out for the chef but I am still taking out my trusty hand mixer. Please help. Thanks so much

    • Hi Dee,
      I’m not the best person to give advice as I’m still learning to use mine. I think the trick is to make sure the butter or marge is nice and soft – get it out of the fridge several hours in advacne. I tend to beat the butter and sugar for about 5 mins at least on speed 2, and regularly stop and scrape the beater and the bowl down. Also, your eggs need to be at room temperature too.

  4. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 | You do too much

  5. Just want to thank you for this recipe. I’ve made these three times now (using hazelnuts rather than Macademia) and they’ve been gorgeous each time. You aren’t kidding about how much they spread – my first batch sort of splodged together into a single tray of cookie dough, but letting it cook a bit longer then slicing the mass up once it had cooled a bit left me with cookies that were tasty if not terribly aesthetically pleasing!

  6. Hi Kat! I have just discovered your blog…(being also a fledgling ‘chefette’ on the look out for recipes…) You have brightened my driech and dreary Scottish day and made me chuckle! I shall visit you again and listen to your music. Are you a Katrina? I have a sister who is a Kat/Katrina?

    Regards
    Yve AKA Morag McHaggis

  7. Halina Zagorska

    Hi Kat, I received my longed-for Kenwood Chef Premier 2 days ago and intend to give it a whirl today. I see where you’re coming from about the size of the box! Anyway I was going to have a go at a Victoria Sponge as that’s easy to do but I’m a bit confused about the flexi-beater. The instructions in the accompanying book are sparse so I wanted to know if I use the f-b to fold in the flour as well – perhaps on low speed????? Your description of your fantastic sounding cookie-making did make me chuckle. Will definitely give those cookies a go, they sound delish!
    Regards
    Halina.
    PS My Mum had a 60’s Chef and after she died I gave it away as I thought, having a newish food processor, I wouldn’t need it. Realise, all these years later, it was a silly move but at least it went to a good friend.

    • Lucky you! Enjoy your new toy. I use the flexi-beater for the whole process of making cakes or cookies, from creaming the sugar and butter to beating in eggs and folding in the flour (low speed! especially at first!!) and gently mixing in choc chips etc. I find it’s really important to have everything at room temperature before you start, especially the eggs and butter.

      Good luck with your baking

Leave a Reply

