Music on Mondays:Jay-Z – Lucifer

Given that I’m a musician, I don’t actually get to listen to a lot of music. This is because I’m either at work (no music allowed, boo), on my bike (listening to music on a bike is a very bad idea), making my own music, or asleep. Actually, I do listen to music as I fall asleep but due to laziness, I’ve listened to the first 3 tracks of King Tubby’s Crucial Dub every night for the past 6 weeks.

So I’m going to start a new thingy here on the blog – Music on Mondays – for new discoveries and old favourites.

First up, Lucifer by Jay-Z. I rediscovered this today in the car on the way to visit my parents.  Sometimes, the only way to cope with a parental visit is to turn up listening to obscenely loud hip-hop. Admittedly, this looks less cool in a Ford Mondeo estate than in a Chevy 64, but it’s all I’ve got.

I love this track – mostly thanks to the super-hooky vocal sample and Kanye West’s production duties.

All together now “Lucifer, Lucifer…”

If you’ve got any recommendations for new or old tunes that you can’t believe I haven’t heard, please leave ’em in the comments.

Leave a Reply

