New on the Needles – Nightsongs

There haven’t been many knitting-related posts from me lately as I haven’t been able to knit for a while. The RSI in my right wrist has flared up and I’m having to avoid non-essential movement. Sadly, knitting counts as non-essential. Not sure who’s classification that was…

Anyway, on Monday I was feeling a bit better so I sneakily started a new project – the gorgeous Gail (aka Nightsongs) shawl from MaweLucky (Ravelry link – free pattern!).

I first came across this shawl in real life on someone actually called Gail, and was really struck by the pattern – and it didn’t look insanely complicated. Flushed with the success of the Brandywine Shawl, I tracked down the pattern. I’m using my final skein of lovely, lovely Colinette Jitterbug, left over from the anatomical heart project.

It certainly takes a lot more concentration than Brandywine – no huge panel of mindless garter stitch in the middle – but it’s going OK so far. Here’s a quick pic, although it doesn’t really look very promising at this stage:

Cross-posted from Yarn Whores

6 responses to “New on the Needles – Nightsongs

  1. I just bought the Evelyn A. Clarke book from Loop: really want to crack basic lace!

    • Lace is fun 🙂

      I’d recommend trying a feather and fan scarf to just get the hang of knitting into yarnovers if you’re a total newbie to anything other than straight knit or purl. Just google “feather and fan pattern” and I’m sure you’ll find something.

      I don’t think it’s intrinsically hard – The main thing lace takes is concentration. Missing just one YO or K2tog will really bugger up your pattern, and I often don’t realise until I’ve got a couple of rows further on and I’ve ended up with the wrong number of stitches. I find it harder to “read” the pattern in the fabric to find out where I am if I get lost that with other knitting (eg colourwork).

      My top tip would be to always photocopy the chart and mark off the row you’ve just done. Otherwise it gets a bit messy. And many people recommend using a “lifeline” for big lace pieces – when you have finshed a row you know is right, thread some thin waste yarn through all the stitches on the needle (easiest if you’ve just done a row of all purl) – secure the waste yarn with safety pins to each side of the fabric, or tie it in a big loop round your work. That way if anything goes wrong later on, you can easily pull the needles out and carefully rip back to that row, and all the stitches will be hanging on the waste yarn, so you can pick them all up. Well, that’s the theory…

  2. Pretty pattern but the author seems quite stroppy about complaints about mistakes. Watch out for any errors that haven’t been spotted yet (and use the lifelines !).
    Hope to see progress at knitting club next week…

    • yeah – the pattern is a little bit challenging to understand in places (I found it genuinely puzzling and took ages to figure it out) and I’m very unconvinced by the look of the double yarnovers it uses in places. But it seems to be coming along OK now.

  3. You really should come to the King’s Arms in Salford, where there is a knitted chandelier and a lot of people who are mad about knitting.

    Come on girl, get out of London.

    Oh, by the way, do you know Fiona Clifton-Welker? I thought all harpists know each other.

Leave a Reply

