Look Ma – I’m trending!

Wanky Balls trending on TwitterI was staggered to see Twitter going crazy over my humble little observation about the Wanky Balls festival (aka the Big Chill) yesterday, culminating in “Wanky Balls” ending up as a trending topic in the UK.

Some people even suggested it should become shorthand for failure of journalists/subs to check their facts (cf Yakawow).

Years of training as a scientist and a writer, and what’s my greatest hit?

Wanky Balls.

*sigh* My mother will be so proud.

Thanks to Bitter Wallet, Tabloid Watch and the Register for taking up the baton, and to Sub’s Standards for the commentary.

9 responses to “Look Ma – I’m trending!

  1. I’m torn between thinking it’s a good thing or a bad thing that it wasn’t a science story that got trending (because science didn’t fail so publicly, or that a science fail would never catch people’s attention).

    I feel you pain. Only time I’ve ever been quoted in the Times: it’s about sodding yakawow.

    Wankyballs is awesome though, and a good catch.

  2. How long before Wanky Balls is so big it has its own Wikipedia entry?

  3. PS Thanks for Yakawow. πŸ˜‰

  4. Wankyballs made the Guardian media podcast http://gu.com/p/2j262/tw

  5. Haha, I love the Wanky Balls story! (first time I’ve seen it)

  6. Pingback: Top posts of 2010 | You do too much

Leave a Reply

