Music on Mondays: Nite Jewel – Want you back

This is a bit of a Marmite track. When I first heard it, I loved the first 20 seconds (love the wibbly synths!) then hated it when the vocals kicked in – to my ears, they sound a bit out of tune, although they really aren’t.

Anyway, after listening to it a couple more times while making this month’s Shady Ladies podcast, I realised it had completely got under my skin and I now love it. Mary and I even worked out a little dance routine while we were recording the show. Thank God it’s not a videocast is all I can say…

According to this Guardian article, it’s just one woman – LA arty-type Ramona Gonzalez. Anyway. I’ve listened to a few more of her tracks on her Myspace, and you know – I think I really do like it after all. I might even buy her album.

One response to “Music on Mondays: Nite Jewel – Want you back

  1. A reaction similar to that which I derived from Martha and the Muffins Echo Beach a decade ago when the likes of Napster and Audio Galaxy ushered in the mp3 era:

    Echo Beach.

    Pete, editor at Dirty Garnet.

Leave a Reply

