Gothy gloves for Emily

I know there hasn’t been a lot of knitting content on this blog lately, but that’s not to say I haven’t been busy with the ol’ sticks and string.

I’ve got a few projects to blog about over the next couple of weeks, starting with these rather lovely fingerless two-colour gloves that I made for my friend Emily:

Emily's gloves

Emily's gloves. A little bit gothy, I think, but in a nice way.

The picture in the background is one of her masterpieces (NB she’s a nanny, not a faux-naif painter), along with the assorted heaps of shabby crap that adorn my house.

No pattern for this, I’m afraid, as I broadly made them up as I went along. They’re based on another pair I made-up-as-I-went-along that I use for playing the harp in draughty studios and at chilly wedding receptions. If I get round it it, I’ll write one up.

I made them out of the leftovers of another knitting project (more of that later), using wonderful King Cole superwash DK merino from Texere. It’s pure wool, but you can bung it in the wash. How good is that?

And when I say leftovers, I mean leftovers. It was a close run thing finishing these, and I had to do a certain amount of unravelling and reknitting of the thumb and hand cuffs to eke out enough light grey. Here’s the entire final remains – less than a metre or so of light grey left:

leftovers

The leftovers

Emily is a very lucky lady. Not only has she got some toasty handknitted gloves, but we also played The Cure for her in the latest Shady Ladies podcast. You owe me cocktails, lady 🙂

3 responses to “Gothy gloves for Emily

  1. Glad to see you’re knitting again ! See you tomorrow ?

  2. Hi Kat,
    I’ve really enjoyed snooping around your blog – what a brilliant combination of things you do!
    We met ages ago, I can’t remember quite where, possibly the Royal Institution, when I was harbouring ambitions to be a science journalist. I’m now working in leadership and development, which is suiting me beautifully.
    You sprung to mind today when I was speaking with a mentee of mine. She’s 16, very bright, really keen to work in science communication and looking for a week’s work experience. I’d really appreciate it if you had any ideas or suggestions.
    Sorry to resort to scribbing on your blog – I don’t have your email address!
    Warm wishes,
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

