Cheesy Feet

Cheesy feet 2Here’s a fun baking project – I made these for my friend Emily’s party, as she’s a big cheese fan. Not sure if she’s a big foot fetishist, but never mind…

Can’t remember where I got the foot-shaped cutter from, but I bought it with this idea specifically in mind. I’m sure I read about these in a recipe book (possibly Nigella?) but I couldn’t find it when I looked, so I adapted a cheese straw recipe from a different book.

Cheesy Feet 1
Recipe – Cheesy feet:

  • Whizz 90g cold butter with 175g self-raising flour and a pinch of salt in a food processor until it looks like breadcrumbs.
  • Mix in 30g finely grated parmesan and 30g finely grated cheddar, along with 1/4 tsp mustard powder and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper.
  • With the motor running, add 1 egg plus 1 egg yolk to bind to a stiff pastry – you made need to stop the processor and do the final mixing by hand if the motor struggles.
  • Turn on the oven to 190C.Wrap pastry in clingfilm and put it in the fridge to chill while the oven heats up.
  • Roll out the pastry to about half a centimetre thick. Cut out feet or any shapes you fancy.
  • Put on a baking tray – greased or lined with non-stick liner. Bake for 15 mins or until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

Cheesy Feet 3

They would probably have benefited from a milk or egg wash but they look pretty good au naturel, I reckon. I also slightly undercooked them, as I was paranoid about burning them. *sigh* I’ll never get this baking lark right…

4 responses to “Cheesy Feet

  1. I saw these cutters on a website and wondered why anyone woud want them – this makes perfect sense! Look yummy.

    • True – I only thought to buy them when I’d seen someone make them. Such a fun idea, and would be good for a kids party too.

  2. Ooh, in all the hububb about which Nigella book these came from, I forgot to let you know that I have hand-shaped cookie cutters. Yes, plural – it’s a boxed set of four or five different sizes. I feel there’s some project we can work on where you use the hands and feet together…

Leave a Reply

