Recipe: White chocolate butterscotch brownies

White chocolate butterscotch brownies

NOM!

I made these for the Sunday Driver gig at the Good Ship in Kilburn last weekend (more of that later), along with a batch of the now-legendary choc-chip-fudge cookies.

The original recipe came from work colleague who brought some of these into work a while ago. I pestered her so relentlessly for the recipe she finally gave in, and I thank her whole-heartedly for it.

I think I overcooked them slightly – they could have done with being a wee bit soggier in the middle, but it’s a super-simple method and they’re absolutely delicious. You could also replace the white chocolate chips with chopped nuts if you fancied it. Due to nut allergies in members of both my bands –  and the fact we’re just handing them out randomly at gigs –  I tend to avoid them completely when I bake.

White chocolate butterscotch brownies

  • 115g butter
  • 300g dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs (ideally at room temperature)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 210g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g white chocolate chips or chunks

Preheat the oven to 180C. Line an 8 inch square pan with non-stick liner. Or just grease the hell out of it and take your chances.

Gently melt the butter in a large saucepan over a low heat. When melted, take off the heat and stir in the brown sugar until well-mixed.

Carefully stir in the flour, baking powder, eggs, salt and vanilla. I just chuck them all in (flour in first) and hope for the best.

Leave to cool for a few minutes then stir in the white chocolate chips.

Spread the mixture into the lined tin and bake for 30-40 mins until firm to the touch and dry on top. Leave to cool in the tin before cutting into however many squares you like. I usually go for 16.

Stuff in your face. The middle ones are the best.

3 responses to “Recipe: White chocolate butterscotch brownies

  1. Another winning recipe! Surely one tray isn’T enough for your gigs? If it were me, it wouldn’t even get past the green room, that is if it made it that far.

  2. They look so yummy that I’m sending this link to my wife right away.

    Hopefully I’ll get the “ok” so we can make them on the weekend.

    Cheers!

    • Total-Geek: Cheers – hope they turn out well!

      Rebecca – you’re right – one tray wouldn’t be nearly enough for our hungry fans (and the band…). I made a massive tin of cookies too 🙂

Leave a Reply

