I’m going on tour! With Revere, supporting Toumani Diabate

Toumani_Diabaté

Toumani Diabate in action

It started innocently enough with a tweet from Stephen, lead singer with the brilliant acoustic pop/indie band Revere. Regular readers may remember that the Shadow Orchestra played with them at the Tabernacle almost exactly a year ago, and a jolly good time we had too.

He asked if I liked the famous Malian kora player Toumani Diabate – the kora is a rather bizarre harp-like instrument. I love Toumani, and his album In The Heart of The Moon with Ali Farka Toure is on heavy rotation on my CD player.

Next thing I know, I’m being invited to join Revere on tour around the UK, supporting Toumani! EeeeeeeeeeEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeeeeeeee!!

We’ve been rehearsing hard for several weeks and our set sounds fantastic, so I’m really looking forward to getting out on the road. We head off on Thursday (that’s tomorrow – argh):

  • 3rd November – St George’s Hall, Liverpool
  • 4th November – Birmingham Town Hall
  • 5th November – Howard Assembly Room, Leeds
  • 7th November – Usher Hall, Edinburgh (I’m not playing this one, I have to go to a conference for work)
  • 8th November – Brewery Arts Centre, Kendal (not doing this one either)
  • 9th November – Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester (I’m back for this one!)
  • 10th November – Turner Sims Concert Hall, Southampton
  • 11th November – Union Chapel, London (sold out)
  • 13th November -Brighton Corn Exchange

I’ll try and blog from the tour, so watch this space.

4 responses to “I’m going on tour! With Revere, supporting Toumani Diabate

  1. Pingback: Revere &Toumani tour diary – Day 1, Liverpool | You do too much

  2. I was in a Union Chapel tonight, and all of you guys were amazing 🙂

  3. Pingback: Music on Mondays: Revere and Toumani Diabate – Love Will Tear Us Apart | You do too much

Leave a Reply

